Game Development Community

whats wrong with google

by Nermion · in General Discussion · 01/31/2009 (6:51 am) · 8 replies

went to google.com

and searched for garagegames

first site that comes up is

Game Development Tools and Software :: GarageGames
This site may harm your computer.
www.garagegames.com

notice "This site may harm your computer."

I try to open it and am taken to this page
http://www.google.com/interstitial?url=http://www.garagegames.com/



#1
01/31/2009 (7:50 am)
Very strange. I tested googling "Garage Games" and "garagegames" just now and found neither the warning nor that page you get. Do you have something like McAfee Site Advisor or something similar on your PC? I wonder if it's something integrated with your browser like that that would be giving you the issues you're having.
#2
01/31/2009 (8:08 am)
Google do flag sites found to be distributing or infected with malware like that in search results but I'm not seeing it for GG...
#3
01/31/2009 (8:19 am)
Google was having a problem earlier today where every single site you searched for came up that way. It seems to be fixed now.

Even searching for "google" came up with warnings that the site could be harmful :)
#4
01/31/2009 (8:43 am)
Hee. Just spotted the headline on El Reg about it.

This internet may harm your computer.
#5
01/31/2009 (3:27 pm)
It was a Google sized "OOPS!!!"
#6
02/01/2009 (3:44 am)
Well, I guess it's true, the whole Internet COULD harm your computer...
#8
02/02/2009 (5:18 pm)
My Macafee SiteAdvisor has found nothing wrong with the current GG site. It wasn't very fond of the 'old' site....but this one is listed as 'green'...lol

Quote:We tested this site and didn't find any significant problems.

There's 54 downloads listed, none of them as 'nuisance'...

Quote:Linked to green sites
When we visited this site, we found that most of its links are to sites which are safe or have only minor safety/annoyance issues.