Game Development Community

[Content removed by Moderator.]

by Nuno Silva · in General Discussion · 10/04/2007 (9:11 am) · 8 replies

[Content removed by Moderator.]

Thread is locked
#1
10/04/2007 (9:14 am)
How strange that I have not heard of this Pixelbox academy before. Strange.

EDIT:
Also, where did you find the information on this site and the claims of fraud?
#2
10/04/2007 (3:33 pm)
Sorry for the delay, David.

I'm one of the deceived students.
Me and my coleagues have proof (emails, chat logs, etc) of every claims I've made.

I include a PDF with a screenshot I made. This new curricular plan is the result of lots of complaints to the previous methods and contents. Garage Games Certification is mentioned at least twice and even has it's logotype.

You can also notice a post by the fake Benjamin Nitschke, in the right pane. The real one already confirmed he has nothing to do with Pixelbox Academy neither authorised any kind of use of his name, materials, etc.

And there is also another group of students doing a "Master in Game Development", organized by APROJE and architectured by mr. Bruno Patatas, that are also beeing promised Garage Games certifications.
I can try to give you the contact of some, but will need to ask for their permission first.

Here's the pdf url:
http://www.eluzyon.com/docs/Course_%20XNA_Foundation_Game_Development_with_XNA_GSE.pdf

Me and my coleagues really hope you can take some measures against this kind of abuse.
As a Garage Games customer (and a good one!!!), I believe it's the least favor I can request you :)

I'm always avaiable for any question :)

NFS
#3
10/04/2007 (4:12 pm)
Nuno,

I'm sorry you were deceived by these guys. You presumed correctly that we have no relationship with Pixelbox at this time and they certainly are not certified by us to teach anything. We are working with a number of 3rd parties to establish curricula we can get behind and endorse. Dave Young's TorqueSchool is one example. The only current offer from us for GarageGames "certified" instruction is directly from us at our Boot Camps. You can check these out and make inquiries from the Education page. We'll do the best we can to clear this up and other similar situations in the future. Thanks for the heads up.

-Brett
#4
10/04/2007 (9:06 pm)
Good lord...i don't think i've seen this many porno adds in a web forum in god knows how long

Anyone who signs up for anything related to education in game design/development on that site should have their Internet privileges revoked.
#5
10/22/2007 (11:24 am)
I can confirm that in February, Pixelbox did, obtain an Academic Evaluation licenses from GarageGames. However, after that, no formal step was taken to license GarageGames Technology for instruction. (A complete list of licensed schools can be found here: http://garagegames.com/solutions/education/) Many accredited schools have licensed Torque for use in the classroom under international accreditation standards, but GarageGames does not currently endorse a particular program.
With regards to the accusations of fraud, we will follow up on this claim, to ensure we are only having relations with legitimate businesses.
#6
10/25/2007 (5:58 pm)
Upon investigation, we've found no evidence of fraud by Pixelbox. The references provided in this thread by Mr.Silva direct to a course description page which includes references to GarageGames free Torque X engine.
GarageGames respects the free speech rights of it's community members, but encourages caution when dialog may be construed as slanderous. We would ask Mr. Silva to withdraw or substantiate his claims, with a greater degree of diligence than done here.
#7
10/26/2007 (2:54 am)
Hello Davey,
I'm quite surprised with your investigation and conclusions.

First of all, Pixelbox Academy does not even exist! It's not a real company. The fraud starts there!
And it's not a claim! It's a fact! Anyone can verify that. Please do not trust me just because I'm writing this!

Secondly, they always said that we would be Garage Games Certified. So, if this is not a fraud, where is my certification? I want to hang it in a wall along side with my Microsoft certifications!

At Portugal, this subject is already in Police and IRS hands. It's under investigation by serious news reporters. There were some important resignations and even other companies that supposedly where going to certify us are moving with prossecutions.

I just wonder if you got threatened by some virtual lawyers, as me and some other students and even public foruns did. After some investigation we found out that the lawyers were fake too!

I just want to say that, if you don't believe me, do a real investigation! Check if the company is real! I will even send you the fake invoices we got, if you want!

Thanks,
Nuno F Silva
#8
10/26/2007 (10:28 am)
Although GrageGames is not generally in the business of investigating our potential customers, we did follow up on some the the references provided by Pixelbox, and found some merit in the credentials of their instructors.

However, the following post taken from PixelBox, submitted to this forum by Mr. Silvia is in fact in error:

"Final grades will be posted on July 5 and all the students will receive in one week counting from that day,
the diploma with the grades and certification from PixelBox Academy Incorporated, Microsoft Corporation
and GarageGames Incorporated."

GarageGames does not currently offer any certification courses through 3rd Parties.

We've asked PixelBox for a reply to this thread.