E-mail harvesting
by Tony Richards · in Site Feedback · 10/23/2006 (7:29 pm) · 3 replies
I've noticed an above-average amount of e-mail address harvesting latetly... anyone else noticed it?
The latest:
Is this a harvest attempt, or is it really something from GG? The GarageGames.com Inc makes me believe it's fake... and icebase.com is a spamming website.
I've done a decent job at obfuscating my public e-mail address... dunno if someone is manually harvesting or what.... annoying... too bad there's nothing that can be done about it.
The latest:
Quote:
We recently received notification that you would like to be added to a GarageGames.com Inc email list.
For your security, you may confirm that the request was made from IP Address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx at 10/22/2006 at 12:27:45 PST.
To verify that you wish to receive emails from GarageGames.com Inc, please use the link below:
Confirm Your Subscription Now
or copy and paste this into your web browser:
http://www.icebase.com/dopt.ice?xxx@gmail.com&garagegames&xxxx
Is this a harvest attempt, or is it really something from GG? The GarageGames.com Inc makes me believe it's fake... and icebase.com is a spamming website.
I've done a decent job at obfuscating my public e-mail address... dunno if someone is manually harvesting or what.... annoying... too bad there's nothing that can be done about it.
About the author
I am the founder of IndieZen.org, a website dedicated to the Indie 2.0 Revolution where a number of Indie game development studios and individuals collaborate and share a suite of custom built open source game development tools and middleware.
#2
10/23/2006 (11:04 pm)
Looks real. If you downloaded anything from our site lately, before you get the download link you are asked if you want to opt-in to the dev or game newsletter. Icebase is not a spamming website but rather an opt-in newsletter marketing service that we pay to use. We would never share community email addresses or other personal information. You have to create a GG account and log in to be able to even see the email address in people's profiles, but a spam/scrape-bot could still find addy's in forum and blog postings, or if someone intentionally logged in and then scraped.
#3
10/23/2006 (11:54 pm)
I stand corrected!
Associate Orion Elenzil
Real Life Plus
i've never gotten a single "confirm your subscription" email from GG.
i get a small number of spams for testicular enhancement etc to my GG account,
so someone is definitely scraping the site for that stuff.