Previous Blog Next Blog
Prev/Next Blog
by date

3D Modeling Contest

3D Modeling Contest
Name:Joseph L. Bratton
Date Posted:Feb 23, 2007
Rating:1.0 out of 5
Public:YES
Comments:YES
RSS Feed:GarageGames Blog feedor Subscribe with .
Profile Page:View profile page for Joseph L. Bratton

Blog post
We are a low budget company but we finally have our first contest up and going. Don't miss out on your chance to win a brand new PSP. We are still working on our site so please excuse the mess. Check out this great chance to win a new PSP at http://www.3dgamemaster.com. Each contestant will be required to build models in 3ds files.

Good Luck!

Keep up for future Contest!

Submit ResourceSubmit your own resources!

Andy Hawkins   (Feb 23, 2007 at 22:44 GMT)
Here's a link to make it more accessible for others...(you mispelled the url - no s)

3D Game Masters

Good luck!

P.S. For the cost of a PSP versus the time taken / skill required to do 1 level and 4 characters it's not equitable. For example one character is worth around $500 to make and that's budget. A commercial character will cost around $1500. So maybe you might want to change the terms of the contest or increase the prizes
Edited on Feb 23, 2007 23:33 GMT

David Montgomery-Blake   (Feb 23, 2007 at 23:06 GMT)
You mean Max files, and not 3DS, right? Might be a bit annoying for boned models and animation sets. You really need to run that through spell and grammar check, too. Little things like Sony or suite instead of site as well as awkward phrasing.

What are the conditions for using the models? Do you keep the rights to them or does the original author retain ip rights?

Good luck on the contest.

EDIT:
Answered my own question:
All turned in files for the competition become property of the owner of 3DGAMEMASTERS.COM

I'm not sure about the MLA standards. That seems a bit odd for an e-mail submission. It would be more appropriate to create a PDF form (or text one) that they can fill out properly.
Edited on Feb 23, 2007 23:18 GMT

Neo Binedell   (Feb 23, 2007 at 23:54 GMT)
So basically you want people to donate their models, etc, for a tiny chance of winning a psp?
Sounds like harvesting to me...

Tank Dork   (Feb 24, 2007 at 00:04 GMT)   Resource Rating: 1
Good call Neo.. then again I wouldn't even trade any of my models for a PSP.. :P

Tom Feni   (Feb 24, 2007 at 01:52 GMT)
creative way to get someone to make your game for you.. :)

open a web site, make up some random contest and then get people to make all your art for a chance to win something.. :)

good luck with it and wish you nothing but the best.. :)

Mike Pearson   (Feb 24, 2007 at 02:20 GMT)
Wow I dont mean to flame but... Are you kidding me? I'm all for creative solutions to funding projects but you really should think them through a little first. Good Luck:;)

Andrew Hull   (Feb 24, 2007 at 04:21 GMT)
This just screams SCAM!

DodongoXP   (Feb 24, 2007 at 04:38 GMT)   Resource Rating: 1
this sound like a scam..

he is basically asking other people give away his work for his mistery project..

the site is made on a rush ... he doesnt even own torque .. the rules are dumb and the prize is the insignificant idea of win a cheap playstation portable .. that i doubt it even exists

i would be more confident to give my credit card on a obscure porn site than this!

Maxwell Marsh   (Feb 24, 2007 at 06:15 GMT)
Yeah, it sounds like someone wants us to spoon feed him some models.

Maxim Lyulyukin   (Feb 24, 2007 at 13:38 GMT)
disapointed by rules and prize also :(
"...At this time we will not accept contestants outside the US. ...."
there is no any garanties, about not using my models if i didnt win.

James   (Feb 24, 2007 at 15:40 GMT)   Resource Rating: 1
Let's see - No concept designs, no design docs, nothing to go on but a "Dodge Ball" game and they want you to submit models for it...?

Given the vocabulary level, grammar and spelling mistakes (We live in a an age of spell checkers and online dictionaries don't we?), I'd say this is a high school kid(s) (at best).

Okay, that was uncalled for but they don't exactly exude confidence do they?
Edited on Feb 24, 2007 15:41 GMT

Jacob (Kouga) Nicholson   (Feb 24, 2007 at 17:38 GMT)   Resource Rating: 1
"We live in a an age of spell checkers and online dictionaries"

Indeed we do ;)

However, you are right, the complete lack of design direction outside of "dodge ball" is not particularly promising. Their website consists of "Home" and "Contest". No information of who they are or what they do. Gotta agree with the others on this, I'm calling them out on account of bs.

James   (Feb 24, 2007 at 21:19 GMT)   Resource Rating: 1
Nuts!

You got me, it's a fair cop :D

Michael Dolhon   (Feb 25, 2007 at 18:02 GMT)   Resource Rating: 1
Hmmmm...and if you look at the WHOIS records for this domain...it was registered through "Domains by Proxy, Inc.", thus hiding their identity. Definitely sounds fishy to me.

Nikhil Sharma   (Feb 26, 2007 at 08:43 GMT)
So... is anyone entering or not?

Mail me your models and you will win <b>Duke Nukem Forever 'Toothpick' Version</b>.

If you are wondering about the 'toothpick' part then all I can tell is that it involves Duke running around poking his enemies and their corpses with a giant toothpick. Yes, it hurts.

Abdu   (Feb 10, 2008 at 20:11 GMT)
I clicked on the site but the link didn't work the site was http://www.3dgamemaster.com/ is this the right url?

You must be a member and be logged in to either append comments or rate this resource.